Eye Fi Connect X2 Memory card Review

Today I’m giving you my review of the Eye Fi Connect X2. I recently purchased this strictly for the purpose of uploading JPEGs to my ipad during photo shoots to get a better view then I can get from my camera’s 3 inch LCD. It has worked flawlessly! There are a handful of versions of the Eye Fi memory cards that offer different features so be sure to pick one that fits your personal needs. The connect X2 will only transfer JPEGs (No RAW support) but my camera holds 2 cards so I use a regular SD for RAW and the Eye Fi for JPEG.

Key features

The card has built-in WiFi called direct mode, so no need for a hotspot or network. The card transmits a small signal that will allow you to upload anywhere anytime. You can connect to hotspot’s and WiFi networks too.

As you take photos they are instantly uploaded from your camera to your PC, Mac, iOS, or Android device (when you are within range).

Photos are automatically organized by date

You can share via email or to Facebook, Flickr, Twitter, and more. They say you can share to more than 25 different social media outlets so I would think you’re covered.

Eye Fi offers endless memory which means once you have safely uploaded photos the card will automatically delete old photos to make room for more.

Set up is a breeze. When you first put the card into the computer it will ask if you want to install the software. You can use the web-based settings manager if you do not want to install any software. I chose to install and the software is very user friendly. You can use multiple cards on the same account. (you create a free Eye Fi account). You are able to configure your card(s) to each upload the photos wherever you’d like. You can send to certain folders on your PC or Mac. To use with your idevice or Android you will need to download a free app. I use my ipad and once you sign in with your Eye Fi account its pretty straight forward. Once you have some photos on your camera you will have to go into settings on your device to select the Eye Fi network. Go into the app and watch your photos start to pop up. For a “small” signal the photos actually upload fairly quickly. I’d say between 3 to 5 seconds for each photo. Not bad for free Wifi anywhere anytime! If you configure a home WiFi network it will use that as long as you are within range. Otherwise the card will create its own.

Cons

Fairly expensive ranging from $39.99 for a 4gig to $99.99 for a 16gig Shortens camera battery life

Overall I’d say it’s well worth it. 4 out of 5 stars. You always have your photos backed up to a computer without having to take your card out of the camera. Able to tether at photo shoots without cords. Sharing photos to social networks as you shoot. Eye Fi is a great piece of technology that can only get better in my opinion. I will be picking up one with RAW support very soon!

If you have any questions or comments feel free to leave them below.

Until next time

Mark

20130315-110711.jpg

About mmillerphotography1

I am a freelance photographer from Southern Michigan. I love all things photo and like to share the world as I see it.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

